Ayutthaya, Thailand

The old Thai capital city of Ayutthaya is an easy day trip from Bangkok. It is a sedate island city surrounded by three rivers: the Chao Phraya, the Pasak, and the Loburi. The city is like a miniature Angkor Wat area–there are many temples and ruins in close proximity. There are also examples of Burmese and Cambodian (Khmer) design influences due to its past invaders.

The above Buddha head and roots are located at Wat Mahatat, a traditional first stop in the city. It is one of the most touristed areas. There were a number of Buddha statues without heads at Ayutthaya ruins because the Burmese chopped the Buddha heads off out of disrespect when they invaded.

 The silver temple below is called Wat Phu Khao Thong and is half Thai and half Burmese in design.

Roosters were positioned near the wat. We were told they are the king’s protectors.

Wat Watthanaram was my favorite wat in Ayutthaya. It is Khmer in design. The style is distinct because the top of buildings are rounded, and there are graduated levels of bricks.

The statue below is a giant reclining Buddha. This statue was grand. It was recently refurbished in the 1950’s, so it is a young site. Buddhists purchase small golden stickers and place them on the Buddha’s arm out of reverence.

E. snapped this picture as we drove by the elephant rides.

It costs less than a dollar to take a commuter train to Ayutthaya from Bangkok’s Hua Lamphong Station. If you take a trip to Ayutthaya, I highly recommend paying a tuk-tuk for a day because it is very difficult to walk to the ruins outside of the main center, especially in the heat. It will be worth the money to have a driver for at least three hours.

17 Comments

Filed under Thailand

17 responses to “Ayutthaya, Thailand

  1. fantastic photo! what an interesting life you have. love this blog.
    your country mouse friend,
    julayne

  2. Man, your posts always make me want to drop everything and head over there to join you guys. We’re going to Italy in May or I’d be looking for tickets to Thailand right now.

    Miss you!

    Italy sounds wonderful too. I look forward to seeing your pics. Sending a big hug!

  3. Mi amiga, tus fotos, WOW. Solo hoy estaba pensando en ti, que ya tengo tiempo que no vengo a visitarte y hoy habri mi correo electronico y ahi estabas tu. La primera foto que causo tristesa y respeto ver la cabeza de una buddha.

    Angela where in Italy are you traveling to? I just visited the tuscany region and it was a wonderful trip.

    Saludos

    Hola, Elisa. Disculpame por no visitarte en tanto tiempo. Estaba muy feliz por tu visite a Tuscania. Tuve mucho trabajo en Marzo, pero ojala que tenga mas tiempo para leer mis blogs ahora. Beso a Beli. :-)

  4. Mom

    Love the pics, and can’t wait to see them all!

  5. Ruth

    Hi, just signing up to be advised when you have new posts!

  6. Oh my God I hate you! Okay, I don’t really, but seriously? How beautiful are those pics? How awesome are you?

    I’m thrilled your having a great time. Beautiful images as always. Good to hear from you the other day.

    xoxo

  7. Que gusto, entonces tambien tu viajas? Me regreso el 14 de Mayo.

    Quizas reunimos para un cafecito? Te mandaré un e-mail.

  8. Hey! I just had D. over and she told us about your trip to the elephants. How Amazing!!! Now we need to meet up! We may do Venice in late September… rendezvous?

  9. Hi my friend, just thinking of you guys tonight after coming home to pictures on TV of the violence in Bangkok. Very unsettling when a place you remember as being so peaceful erupts… I hope you are safe and well.

    With my love, SC

    Thanks for thinking of us Sally. It is unsettling. I hope it doesn’t escalate more. It is usually a peaceful city.

    Take care~

  10. I was thinking of you guys, too. Glad to hear you’re both ok. It makes me pretty sad to see what’s going on there. I have such a different image of Thailand.

    @Elisa… I just saw that you asked where in Italy we’re headed… We’re going to Rome and Sicily for a wedding in Catania. I may go to Bologna and Ravenna to visit some friends and see how the city has changed in the past 15 years. I love Tuscany… but don’t think it will fit into this trip. Cheers!

  11. Unreal. That looks so incredible. You always get my travel juices flowing :)

  12. one day, one day! Glad to year you guys are safe and ok. Plus I think I saw you on my blog earlier today! Hey!

  13. Erika

    Hola amiga!

    I’ve been thinking a lot about BsAs and all the wonderful people Jackson and met. I miss everyone, especially you:) I hope you’re doing wonderful….beautiful pictures!

    Zoe sends her love :)
    ~little bug

  14. Lovely photos. I rode on the back of an elephant now, but it was at a circus, so I wouldn’t ever do that again. I would love to do it for real like the people in your photo.

  15. Como va tu visita en los Estados Unidos? Hoy estuvimos con amigos que viajaron de Nueva York y estaran una semana con nosotras. Despues viajamos a Texas por unos dias.

    Hola Elisa! Te envié un e-mail. Estoy con mi familia ahora. :-)

  16. Would love to know how old those sites are… what amazing cultural heritage!

  17. Pingback: Angkor Wat and Siem Reap « Still Life in Southeast Asia

Leave a Reply

