Welcome to Still Life

I have neglected to start my own Web blog for years now, even through my and E’s travels through Antarctica and the South Pacific. It seemed complicated and distracting while backpacking; Internet time is precious on the road. Internet cafes charge exorbitant fees per minute. 

Now that I’ll have time to spare in Argentina, it seems like the appropriate time to pick up my pen and remember the art of poetry and memoir writing. I plan to create small sketches–still lifes and dioramas–from my life in Buenos Aires. I leave for Argentina on February 25.

When we are sedentary, there is always a desire to be on the road. While on the road, the desire for the mundane routine of a professional life is palpable. I hope to have the best of both words this time, teaching English for online universities at night and, during the day, wandering the city past packs of feral cats and cobblestone lanes where tango heels have tread.

“The only people for me are the mad ones, the ones who are mad to live, mad to talk, mad to be saved, desirous of everything at the same time, the ones who never yawn or say a commonplace thing, but burn, burn, burn, like fabulous yellow roman candles exploding like spiders across the stars and in the middle you see the blue centerlight pop and everybody goes ‘Awww!’” -Jack Kerouac, On the Road

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “Welcome to Still Life

  1. hibeamr

    Okay, I’m in. Great intro.

    Thanks for the access, and I’m looking forward to “M’s Musings” from the Southern Hemisphere. 🙂

    – one of the “mad, mad, mad” people

  2. sandyeggo1

    Looking forward to hearing about all your adventures in the America’s Downunder!

    bon voyage!

    Sandy

  3. adventurejournalist

    I made it! WordPress finally emailed me my password. Cannot wait til you leave (and start writing) so hurry up already!🙂

    T.

  4. melissac33

    I can’t wait to read all about it!🙂

  5. caldwec

    So great to hear from you! Good luck with your new and exciting adventures… I’ll be reading and attempting to keep up with you. I don’t see how it’s fair – I move to KC and you move to Argentina?

    I hope all is well.

    Miss you,
    Courtney

  6. qrobinso

    Thanks for the invite. To live virtually and vicariously through your blog…Who’d of thought that traveling would be so easy these days. 🙂 Looking forward to the “Ask A.”, “What is Argentina like?” or “Things Not to Do in Argentina” series.

  7. blkchicca5

    Yes, thanks for the invite! I am so proud and happy for you. Your courage and passion has caused me to give thought to the things that I am passionate about. Life is too short not to follow your heart’s desires.

    I can not wait to share this virtual experience journey with you.

    Glynis

  8. belaironline

    look out for the anacondas…

    —- mb

  9. jillhac08

    I finally logged in! I want to experience Buenos Aires thru you. I really hope this experience is all you want it to be! Love to you both~
    Jill

  10. Pingback: Still Life Year in Review – 2009 « Still Life in Southeast Asia

Leave a Reply

