Sinful Dulce de Leche

Flan with Dulce de Leche

The day I ordered this concoction, I mistakenly thought my friend had ordered food. I ordered a dessert with the thought that if I ordered too, she would not feel singled out eating alone. That was how I ended up eating this decadent flan with crema and dulce de leche sauce. And she would not even accept one bite!

Dulce de leche flavor is the hallmark flavor in Buenos Aires. The flavor is rapidly catching on in the United States now for coffee and ice cream. It tastes like its name–sweet milk–but the dulce de leche cream that Argentines sell is like a thick, molasses-like paste for spreading on scones, biscuits, ice cream, bread, and any dessert. Consider it the caramel version of Nutella. At the Feria de Mataderos, a craft and food fair outside of Buenos Aires, a vendor filled chocolate and vanilla wafers with the dulce de leche cream.

My favorite dessert here–the alfajore–is made up of two light vanilla cookies sandwiching a generous spread of dulce de leche. An American friend called it a “gourmet Ho-Ho.” I favor the chocolate covered Cachafaz brand. E. likes the original version. The cookies are plain with dried coconut lining the edges to complement the sweet dulce layer.

Chocolate Alfajore

My informal surveys have revealed that porteños prefer the local brand Cachafaz over the more commercially known Havana.

7 Comments

Filed under Food

7 responses to “Sinful Dulce de Leche

  1. Nate D O Double G

    Looks so good! Condensed milk and sugar, you can’t go wrong.

  2. ohhhh. wonderful! On our first date, I brought Guillermo some Havanna alfajores that a friend brought me back from Argentina. He left them at the restaurant-can you believe I married him anyway?!-I’m still mad! Oh, to taste them…

  3. it looks SO good!
    im avoiding yeast and sugar in my diet so Ive only been looking at the dessert menu – not ordering!!

  4. Oh, that looks delicious!

  5. Jorely

    Can’t wait to go and try it for myself!

  6. Alfajor

    Argentina. El alfajor. Historia del alfajor, secretos de los alfajores, recetas para hacer alfajores de maicena, diferentes tipos de alfajor. Alfajor santafecino y alfajor cordobes. Marcas de alfajores milka, terrabusi, bagley, capitan del espacio, havanna y balcarce.

    http://www.alfajorargentino.com.ar

  7. Esteban

    No way… Havanna is so much better!!!!!

Leave a Reply

