Waterfalls in Iguazú

 Photo Credit: Ole Begemann

Last weekend we visited Iguazu in the province of Misiones, Argentina. Misiones is situated in northern Argentina. Puerto Iguazu borders at Brazil and Paraguay. The waterfalls are amazing on both the Argentinean and Brazilian sides, though we only were able to visit the Argentinean falls (called cataratas). The Brazilian side is said to offer more glimpses of wildlife. On our hike, we saw monkeys, butterflies, various sizes of rodents, and coatis.

Coatis, like scavenging raccoons, roamed the park–eager for tourist handouts. Some tourists were happy to oblige, despite warnings to the contrary. Some even petted them! I strongly advise against this.

These photos provide a glimpse of what we saw.

See my updated post on Traveling to Iguazú

Photo Credit: Ole Begemann

5 Comments

Filed under Animals, Argentina

5 responses to “Waterfalls in Iguazú

  1. God, so beautiful it puts Niagara Falls to shame. We’re definitely planning on seeing Iguazú sometime in the next 2 years. It’s on my last I’m telling you!

  2. Sherry

    I’m sure that the people petting the Coatis are the same ones letting the pigeons in NYC land on the heads of their children.

    Augh–all I could think of was “RABIES!”

  3. We want to go so bad, hopefully this year. I think is a “must” if you are living in Argentina.
    Ditto on the Rabies thought!…

  4. Thanks for showing off my photos and giving me credit!

    Please note that Flickr requires you to link back to the respective photo pages as long as you use images that are hosted on Flickr. If you don’t want to do that, you would have to copy the files to your own server. (Flickr Community Guidelines: http://www.flickr.com/guidelines.gne)

    No–thank you for sharing your art. I am glad you posted because I was wondering if I linked properly. Cheers!

  5. Pingback: Traveling to Iguazú « Still Life in Buenos Aires

Leave a Reply

