Top Ten Things to Do in Buenos Aires

Tango Dancers at Confiteria Ideal

Photo Credit: Gerrysan

Have a week to spend in Buenos Aires? Here are my top ten things to do here.

  • Enjoy cafe con leche with a medialuna outside a cafe and people watch.
  • Walk alongside Puerto Madero.
  • Watch tango at a milonga such as Confiteria Ideal. (Request a table in the back to respect the dancers.)
  • Go downtown: Visit the Plaza San Martin, Obelisk, Plaza de Mayo, and the Casa Rosada. This is a perfect walking day.
  • See Evita’s grave and beautiful mausoleums at Recoleta Cemetary.
  • Visit la Boca neighborhood. (Stick to the main tourist streets.)
  • Peruse the San Telmo Street Fair on a Sunday morning.
  • Take a colectivo to Feria de Mataderos on a Sunday afternoon.
  • Visit the cats in Parque Carlos Thays near the Jardin Zoologico.
  • Shop at the boutiques in Palermo Viejo and stop by Plaza Serrano on a weekend.

If you have time to leave Buenos Aires for a day during your visit, take the Buquebus to Colonia, Uruguay, or day trip to the town of Tigre using a commuter train from Retiro. Both trips are an hour away and worth the time.

10 Comments

Filed under Argentina

10 responses to “Top Ten Things to Do in Buenos Aires

  1. Hm, you make me want to rediscover my adopted city!🙂

  2. Thank you for the list! I am going there in a few months and we are going to try out some of the activities you suggested. We will let you know what we thought of them when we get back.

  3. Wow! All that walking has left me rather parched! Need to find one of those old bars where the decor has not been changed since the day they opened and have me a Gancia with soda and límon!

    Good call! Those are two things I haven’t experienced yet. Perhaps you have a favorite?

  4. I do, we will take you there….but it will have to remain a secret😉

  5. Pingback: Don’t Pet the Cats « Still Life in Buenos Aires

  6. ashmantravels

    ooooh thanks for the info =D

    I might go to Buenos Aires next winter and I’m trying to find reasons to convince my friends why Buenos Aires should be our next destination. Muchas Gracias!

    Buenos Aires is waiting for you! Let me know if you have any questions if you do decide to go there.🙂

  7. One of the things I love about living in Buenos Aires is the cafe culture. There are soooo many to choose from!

    I hope that cafes have kept the custom of giving a little cookie and water with a coffee. That should never go out of style!🙂

  8. sandrar

    Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.

  9. Thank you for these tips! I’m traveling to Buenos Aires in a few weeks and have been looking for a great place to see tango dancing.

Leave a Reply

