Tonight I Can Write


Photo Credit: Bracani….Antonio

Tonight I can write the saddest lines.

Write for example, ‘The night is shattered
and the blue stars shiver in the distance.’

The night wind revolves in the sky and sings.

 

A portion of Pablo Neruda’s poem XX, Twenty Love Poems and a
Song of Despair

There are mosquitos the size of bats on the ceiling. I’ve been grading papers for 12 hours now. In the courtyard, the beagle still bays out every day. He’s been joined by a cat that sometimes yowls for hours. I am going to miss this courtyard, especially the mornings heavy with rain, the cool patter on the tiles outside.

I look out into the night and see the lit lives of families. Those that dine at 10 p.m. passing salad around the table. Our mysterious next door neighbors who come by once a week to use the apartment as a party base. The woman who sweeps her balcony as her bull terrier tries to bite the broom.

Do they see me? The room darkly lit by a small table lap. Me at the computer, with white pajama pants, navy slippers, and a glass of wine. This girl who sits at the computer every day and every night. They can see me perfectly, as I can see them.

4 Comments

Filed under Argentina

4 responses to “Tonight I Can Write

  1. Ah, yes, 12 hours of marking. . . I know it well. Your observations are wonderful and capture the atmosphere so beautifully, I feel as if I’ve seen it myself (but am glad I’m not actually near those mosquitoes!).

    I just tried to kill one but was unsuccessful. I’m going to have a hard time sleeping tonight!

  2. I see you perfectly in my mind’s eye thanks to your evocative description. Beautifully written!

  3. Jorely

    That was really well written. As I read it I felt like I was there in the apartment with you, having tea. We missed you last night at dinner but I’m so glad I got the chance to talk to you. Miss you so much Ahmahndah!

  4. And here I sit, reading your blog when I should be brushing my teeth, creaming my face, finishing an Ann Rule book that does not grip.

Leave a Reply

