Six Random Things About Still Life


Photo Credit: Celeste

Happy Halloween everyone!

I’ve tried to remain a mysterious shadow behind this blog since its birth. Readers must surely ask, “Who is this person behind Buenos Aires?” I’ll tell you: she’s a thirty something, North American, Midwestern [section redacted].

Ricki of Diet, Dessert, and Dogs posted a “Six Random Things About Me” post in early October and tagged bloggers who might be game. Ricki used to be an English professor, and she can write. Well, it’s about time I divulged something about myself; although each time I try to write about myself, I think, “Don’t you want to hear about Buenos Aires?”

Six Random Things about the writer:

  1. I was my university mascot (a panther) and cheered football and basketball games. You would never know this by meeting me, as I’m quiet at first introduction. In high school, I also worked at a children’s bookstore where I dressed up as Winnie the Pooh, the Cat and the Hat, and one of the wild things from Where the Wild Things Are. I also dressed up as a giant swim safety fish for my local public pool.
  2. I was a part-time bartender at the local dive bar in Antarctica.
  3. I met Richard Simmons when I worked a temp job handing out name tags for a doll convention in my early twenties. When I approached him to get his autograph and a picture, he grabbed me by the waist and screamed, “Oh my god! Look at her waist! She looks like Scarlett O’Hara!” All of the women at the convention stopped to stare at me, and I never did get to explain my adoration for Richard. At least I got an awesome Polaroid, which is in storage and I will someday share with you.
  4. Harriet Beecher Stowe is my distant cousin.
  5. The only things I’ve won in life are a hamster from a pet store and a Vanessa Williams cassette tape of “Saved the Best for Last” from a radio station.
  6. I can sing, and I love to dance–one of my life goals is to star in a community musical. I can swing, salsa, polka, cha cha, merengue, and tango. My next dance will be blues dancing.

So, now it’s my turn to tag others; however, I’d like to do as Ricki did. Those of you who read this post are welcome to participate in the Six Random Things list. Here are the rules:

  • Link to the person who tagged you.
  • Post the rules on the blog.
  • Write six random things about yourself.
  • Tag six people at the end of your post.
  • Let each person know they have been tagged by leaving a comment on their blog.
  • Let the tagger know when your entry is up.

19 Comments

Filed under Arts

19 responses to “Six Random Things About Still Life

  1. Oh, Still Life, what a tease!!

    I’d love to see you dance in your community musical and see your Scarlett O’Hara of a waist …and that Polaroid with Simmons🙂

    You are really good at being mysterious and as much as I would like to see you, I am enjoying getting to know you this way!

    Maya–I think that waist left with my twenties!🙂

  2. At least you had a Scarlett O’Hara waist at one time! haha I’m so jealous.😉

    I think the tidbit that really caught my attention was #2. I’d really like to hear more about that! How did you wind up in Antarctica?

    I like this challenge, and I will definitely take you up on it.

    Hi Katie,

    I can’t wait to hear your random facts.

    I worked on a four-month Antarctic summer contract supporting the National Science Foundation at McMurdo Station.

  3. Are you secretly one of those “furries”?

    Very valid question.😉

  4. I’m going to do this later today! I’ll link back to you… 🙂
    It was fun learning more about you!

  5. olivia

    I miss you terribly and so I’ll list a few things… but besides Perezhilton I don’t read other blogs… so I can’t complete the assignment. But writing weird things about myself that is no longer who I am, I like. I miss my old self and now that I’m over 30 yrs old I like to reminise.

    1. I have a black belt in Judo- I was national camp for four years. Now I’m a house wife in DC

    2. In college I was on a game show and lost. But as a boobie prize I won a year’s worth of Rice o’Roni.

    3. I almost became a pro-surfer in Hawaii before joining the peace corps

    4. I used to have long platinum blonde hair, but now I’ve adopted the politically incorrect phrase, ‘I’m a feather’ to tell people that I’m a Native American.

    5. I started to write a novel, but get depressed about how much I suck at writing.

    6. I love being a mom, and I never ever ever EVER thought I would get married and have a child. Now I love it more than life it self. Life is truly good.

    I never knew!!! I love learning random things about my friends.
    I can’t imagine you as platinum blonde. I think dark hair suits your olive skin.

  6. Pingback: 6 random things about ellebee « ellebee plus 3

  7. Sorry I’m so late to comment–I was visiting my sister all weekend and didn’t have access to the Internet. I think I must never go away again if this is what I miss!😉

    Thanks so much for doing this–it is great to learn more about you! I am in awe of virtually every one of these points. Cool, cool, and double cool (ie., extremely cool–cold, even!)

    To begin, that photo is terrific (love the shadow profile). Mysterious, yes, but it does seem to suit you. (And I can certainly relate to not posting a photo of oneself on one’s blog).🙂

    The jobs you’ve had are so interesting (though I’d bet 4 months in Antarctica was sufficient!), as are your distant relatives🙂 . I also loved the Richard Simmons story. I never met him, but I did get into a huge argument with a friend in university because of him once . 😉

    Great meme.

    Thanks for the inspiration, Ricki!

  8. Hey,

    Hope you had a wonderful Halloween!!!

    you did a lot of dressing up in your past huh? haha my boys love ‘Where the Wild things are’ great book – i heard they were going to turn it into a movie?

    Richard Simmons – eeekkk Mr Disco pants – what a hoot! he is always so Up and full of energy….and a Scarlett O’Hara waist – something to be proud of girl!!!

    have a fun day – are you watching the USA elections closely….we are and we’re not even american!!!

    I can’t tear my eyes away from the constantly updating results.🙂

  9. Yes, I’ve wondered “Who is this person behind Buenos Aires?” once, well…maybe twice and tried to find your picture in your blog.

    And Antarctica? How cool is that.

    I love this! I’ll do it this week, I promise.

    I’ll enjoy reading your answers, Tania!

    Let me know if you visit Buenos Aires. We can meet for cafe con leche.

  10. Nice. I especially like 1 & 3. Check out this blog post for a cool pic of Where the Wild Things Are. http://sugeeandersyn.blogspot.com/2008/08/who-doesnt-love-la.html
    And btw, yes there is a Shakey’s and it’s the bomb. Although we didn’t have the 10 cent cartoons. That would have been too good to be true! lol

  11. Done! Thank you. This was such a great and fun idea!

  12. Wow, a bar in Antarctica…now that’s a cool job! I’ve had some random jobs in my life but never anything that totally awesome.

    Thanks Kyle. I am not a trained bartender or even adept at mixing drinks. I figured it was too-good of an opportunity to pass up.🙂

  13. cdenton

    Like the photo. Don’t you love the broken sidewalks in Buenos Aires, especially when they spit out water…

  14. argentinepost

    You absolutely must share that Polaroid of Richard Simmons with us!

    Happy Near Year!
    Taos

  15. OMG! LOVE, love, love the photo of you, how clever. You are SO mysterious!

    I’ll have to work on this six random things, thing.

    You are a pretty awesome writer yourself! (So is Ricki, I read her blog, too!)

    XO

    Thank you, Meg!

  16. This is a neat idea! I promise I’ll write a Six Random Things post soon & link to you. Although, I too like to hide behind my blog posts!😉

  17. I absolutely love this post. You are fascinating! I know I’ve said this before, but holy cow. You’ve done so many cool things! Gone so many places. What a fun life. I think I’ll do a six random things blog soon and I will link to you, I promise.

    Thank you for the compliment. I would love to read your random things post. I think everyone has out-of-the-ordinary experiences to relate if just given the chance.

Leave a Reply

