From the End of the World

We`re biding our time in Porvenir, Chile, in Tierra del Fuego. Nearly at the end of the world in Patagonia. Getting away from the water, the smell of wild sweet clover permeates the streets.

The evening boat back to Punta Arenas leaves at 8:00. I´m hoping to see a mini dolphin riding in the side wake when we return. E. caught sight of one on the journey into the port. I figured that´d be good luck.

The day is strangely temperate and sunny for the bitter cold we´ve experienced in Punta Arenas. E. and I have another day in southern Chile, and then we´re back to summer in Santiago. The weather changes quickly in this region. It´s sunny one minute and pouring the next. The wind can be a monster.

I can´t get the Dixie Chicks´song “Heartbreak Town” out of my head. Porvenir isn´t necessarily sad, it´s just that there is not much for the residents to do in their spare time. With the lack of a radio or iPod, my mind tends to put songs on rotate. During our hike in Torres del Paine, it chose a Phil Collins song “Do You Remember?” (Why?!?) I had to fight that song off with some Handel. However, Katy Perry (“Hot N Cold“) kept fighting Vivaldi for control.

This weekend I should have some remembrances on the bus ride over to Santiago from Mendoza, initial thoughts on Santiago, Punta Arenas, Puerto Natales, Parque Torres del Paine, and Porvenir.

Chileans appear to love eighties pop music as much as Argentines. If you love instant coffee, you´re in luck!

6 Comments

Filed under Chile

6 responses to “From the End of the World

  1. Jelena

    Good luck in Chile — love your stories.

    I miss you here…

    Jelena

  2. Looking forward to your thoughts on Chile. Love Katy Perry! Good luck.

  3. Hi Still Life,

    I’m looking forward to reading about your latest adventures and experiences in Chile. I’m interested specifically in your take on the differences between Chilean and Argentine culture, food, etc.

    Also, I was wondering if you’d be willing to add a link to my blog in your sidebar.🙂

    Saludos,
    Katie


    Sure! I just got back from the trip and will add you soon.🙂

  4. Thanks for the birthday wishes! Happy New Year to you – can’t wait to hear about Chile!

  5. Hi SLBA,

    I like that since you don’t have an ipod songs rotate randomly through you head. I never thought of that.

    I dislike instant coffee, but I would still be in luck as I would not be tempted by the good stuff!

    Are you a tea drinker, Meg?

  6. Jorely

    Don’t worry…Nate and I definitely have a couple Catwalk CDs for you when you come visit tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

