Where in the World?

apartment-view

Each time I move to a new place, I worry that there won’t be special things that I identify with the location. In Argentina, I loved watching my balcony neighbors mill about, hanging up underwear and talking on their cells, and I loved hearing the beagle barking in the courtyard. I always wonder: will the next place contain its own sweet attributes?

Outside of our apartment in Chile, buskers sing opera and pop. An accordionist plays the Godfather theme and my favorite songs from Amelie. Once in a while, a grungy blues band hooks up an electric guitar and a band member wails on his harmonica. Two cats–Martín and Dali–sulk around our courtyard. The only noise they make is when they get into wicked cat fights at one in the morning.

It’s been more than a month since I wrote. I didn’t have time to tell you that I was visiting family in Illinois and Arizona. I loved the familiarity of being with family; they know those thoughtful facts like I prefer one and a half spoonfuls of sugar in my coffee. My parents live between woods and a cornfield. A pair of geese hangs out across the street some evenings. The sunsets are streaky blue and orange across the horizon–perfect for sitting on the front porch “of an evening” as my grandmother says. My parents’ mini schnauzer lets me think she’s my dog while I stay there.

Arizona was beautiful too–it was my first visit. The large cactus and adobe colors were beautiful. I missed the geckos, though. Must be too cool.

Now I’m back in Chile. Which reminds me–I need to talk about Santiago. I have plenty to tell you about.

martin-and-dali

9 Comments

Filed under Chile

9 responses to “Where in the World?

  1. Glad to have you back! Sounds like a beautiful place to have spent the last month–your parents are so lucky to have such property! I look forward to reading more about Chile.🙂

    You have been quite busy lately, I see. Congratulations on all of your cookbook news. :0)

  2. Hey, so good to get an update. How wonderful to have been back with your family for a while before returning to Chile. I wonder when we will be seeing you back in BsAs… or will we?

    Hug, SC

  3. It’s great to have an update from you, Still Life. I’m glad to hear that you were able to decompress and enjoy your time with your family back in the States. I can’t wait to read more about your adventures in Chile. Thanks for stopping by my blog as well.🙂

  4. Karen

    Hi Still Life,

    Reading about your different experiences reminds me of my childhood, as I lived in different countries in South America. I was born in Buenos Aires, and at four years old began my nomadic life across the southern countries. I too lived in Santiago and remember the good times I had with friends there. You bring back memories.

    Thanks.

    Hi Karen. Thank you for your comment. I’m happy that my entries resonate with you.

    Where are you now? It sounds like you are far away.

  5. Karen

    As an adult I have been living in the U.S., but I still reminisce upon the lifestyle of knowing people from different cultures and meeting with internationals that are a slight bit uncomfortable because they are abroad. Also, the richness you experience in having to open yourself up and adapt to a new place and taking in the special things that place has to offer is life-changing.
    I visit Argentina when I can. I will try to visit Valparaiso soon, as I have a couple of friends that live there.

  6. If that first picture is from your apartment, I think you’ll quickly find even more special neighborhood things – it’s a fun area.

    Yes– it is. I think we are fortunate because we can walk so many places and Bellavista is blocks away.🙂

  7. if i remember my time in chile, i bet you have a lot to tell!!!
    looking forward to it:)
    The Travel Expert(a) and an Expat with a Twist

  8. Hi, just found your blog via JMCS – I like your writing style! Arizona sounds beautiful…


    Hi Tamsin,

    Thanks for stopping by! I will be sure to check out your site.

Leave a Reply

