Parque Mahuida

mahuida

On Easter Sunday, Eileen of bearshapedsphere accompanied E. and I on an urban adventure. We hiked in the foothills outside of the La Reina section of Santiago. The park is called Parque Mahuida, and you can take a city bus to its entrance. I was so happy to be able to arrive at a hike without a car. It’s also a great feeling that the park is accessible to so many different people. 

Our trail was quiet because of the holiday. The cacti started appearing a couple hours up. They always seem like lonely sentinels to me.

cactus

The hike up wasn’t strenous–uphill but not too steep–but the walk down was difficult. Very loose and gravelly. Grabbing thorny bushes during the descent–not so smart. I am still sporting several bruises from when the trail took me down. This sign is fitting:

looser

Take a look at Eileen’s beautiful photos of the day. She took a photo of a giant purple winged bug dragging a spider into his den. She also took a photo of a snake which she saved me from walking into. Thanks again!

parched-earth-mahuida

On a different note, Diann at Eat’n Veg’n inspired me to take a photo of a dinner I made the other night. She is always sharing her meal ideas and food experiments on the site. I admire that her writer’s voice is always positive and inquisitive.

I’ve been in the mood for a black bean burger and sweet potato fries, so I did a take on an Epicurious.com recipe. Recipe after the jump.

black-bean-bgr

Just a warning: this is spiced for people who like some heat!

Spicy Black Bean Burgers
Inspired by a Bon Appétit recipe from July 1995
Serves two people (two burgers each)

  • 1 15- to 16-ounce can black beans, rinsed, drained
  • 1/2 cup finely chopped red onion
  • 1/2 cup dry breadcumbs
  • 3 large button mushrooms, diced (or one roasted and finely chopped portabello)
  • 4 tablespoons chunky salsa
  • 2 teaspoons ground cumin
  • 2 teaspoons hot pepper sauce (I recommend Texas Pete)

Mash beans with a potato masher or hand mixer. (If hand mixing, leave some beans whole to give the burger some texture.) Mix other ingredients in. Hand form a burger-sized patty. While the hamburger buns are toasting, brown the burger for three minutes each side with medium heat. Serve with tomatoes and avocado slices. Add extra salsa to top. More hot sauce couldn’t hurt.

10 Comments

Filed under Chile, Food, Santiago, Vegetarian

10 responses to “Parque Mahuida

  1. “looser.” nice.

    it’s like you’re walking to closely and the rock has a googly face so you need to walk looser.

    i always love cacti shots. i may post some tonight.

    i posted some pix in response to your question about picky being tired after day care. short answer: hells yeah.

    Hey thanks. Gotta get my Pickles fix.

    BTW–you’re not a looser.😉

  2. I miss cactus.

    Beautiful scenery, and I looooove black bean burgers so much! Black beans are very hard to come by here, so they are a rare treat.

    For the potato water – I did salt it. I don’t normally salt water, but I did. Not really sure how much of a difference it made, because you add salt to the potatoes when they’re in the oven.

    I think your post the other day was probably the cause of my fixation on black bean burgers.🙂

    Isn’t Pioneer Woman hilarious? She cooks a little bit too much like Paula Deen for my taste, but I wish I had an ounce of her sense of humor.

  3. The hike was great, but I prefer the black bean burgers! Just kidding. Man that descent was evil. I’m glad we changed courses when we did. Otherwise I’d still be standing there chanting “I think I can, I think I can.” Next time, trekking poles!

  4. black bean burgers?? our mouths are watering! we also love the cacti…especially the dried out ones that line argentina’s northwest.

    so, you are one of the first to know: we’re departing for the USA on may 5th…and leaving argentina behind. new projects are calling, but we will squeeze in one more trip to buenos aires and iguazu.

    we’re hoping that imagine argentina can take off once we’re home.

  5. What a gorgeous hike. A bit of a surprise to read that the cacti appeared TWO HOURS into the hike–which means you hiked for more than four hours??? (Ah, the good old days when I could walk that long/far!). Sorry about the thorns and bruises, though.

    The burgers look delicious–I’m on a black bean kick these days, so they’re right up my alley (hiking trail?)😉

  6. Mr. E

    I sure wish I could try those burgers someday….


    I think I can arrange that.🙂

  7. It was fun to read Eileen’s take on the hike and then yours, Still Life. Neat cactus photo! I wish there were more places to hike around here.

    I just made chili with black beans. It seems to be a black bean kind of a week!

    Mmm…chili sounds awesome. I usually make mine with black beans and texturized vegetable protein. It’s easy to find here. Does Daniel like much spiciness?🙂

  8. jill

    hey,

    nice post! i want to make a black bean burger! too bad kyle would never eat it.

    Ok–we have to get Rowan started on beans early.😉

  9. Really gorgeous scenery… I’ve actually never been to the deserts, so cacti and such are rather foreign to me.

    Those bean burgers sound fantastic, by the way.🙂

  10. Yum, I think I’m going to try that!

Leave a Reply

