Huerto Orgánico en Santiago

Feria Friends

I don’t know much about gardening. My mom has always had a green thumb, kind of like Mad Faffer. My grandparents also tended to a huge garden and fruit orchard in their back yard, but my sisters and I were never expected to cultivate the vegetables and fruits–only to pick them. The only way in which my grandparents spoiled us was with the amount of canned fruits, vegetables, and jams they gave us. (Not to mention my grandma’s otherworldly fruit pies.) As I’ve gotten older, I’ve become more interested in gardening. If E. and I had a yard, I think we would start a humble huerto with at least carrots and potatoes.

Today, I attended a small organic garden fair hosted by Huerto Orgánico Hada Verde.

The manager tends to a large garden and hen house in her back yard in the middle of the city. It is a time consuming labor of love in which the neighbors pitch in. The eight year old next door was so comfortable in the garden that he laid down in the middle of the vegetables and crawled into the henhouse to hold the surprisingly calm chickens. What a cool experience to be raised next to a garden and henhouse in the middle of the city.

The sale offerings included dried herbs, seeds, and leaves; a salt and herb mix; fresh eggs; garden fresh tomatoes; pesto and garlic bread; hot pepper bread; cookies and cupcakes; pots of live herbs; homemade jam; bath salts; face tonic; and necklaces. The organizer also offered a workshop on organic gardening. There seems to be at least one fair each month, perhaps more. The schedule is available on the Web site.

garden-table

While we were there, a baker kneaded and baked a group of wheat pesto and garlic bread loaves rolled in flax and sesame seeds. As we were leaving, she was just about to bake fresh red pepper bread. I would have waited, but I figured that one pesto loaf was sufficient. I also took away six brown eggs and a bottle of rosemary, thyme, and parsley salts for soups or rice. Did you know that the freshest eggs are hardest to crack? I didn’t either.

boy-and-bird

Huerto Orgánico Hada Verde is located in Providencia, Santiago de Chile. The next workshop is on using natural fertilizers and avoiding plant pests in healthy ways.

8 Comments

Filed under Chile, Food, Santiago, Vegetarian

8 responses to “Huerto Orgánico en Santiago

  1. How wonderful to have such a community resource like this organic garden! Everything looks so fresh and delicious. I am spoiled here in Necochea because my boyfriend’s parents have a great vegetable garden that produces a real bounty. I’m see a return trip to the Huerto Orgánico in your future!😉

  2. What a great idea! And yep, that boy sure does look comfy with that chicken. Never heard that about eggs before–that tells us how UNfresh most of the store-bought ones are!

    That’s what I was thinking, too.😮

  3. I would so love to have a garden! We’re in a tiny flat in the city and we don’t even have ledges for window boxes…but I still might try to plant something and put it in a sunny spot – it’s so lovely growing things.
    I love that picture with the little boy & the chicken!

    I imagine that Guppy would really get into a garden.🙂 Are there any programs in your area where you can rent or share a lot? My mom did this for a little while when we were growing up.

  4. Mom

    That looks so beautiful. I wish I could take lessons on organic gardening. I have a lot to learn, and I plan to start as soon as our monsoon season stops!

    Hi Mom! Please plant some rhubarb if you think of it.

  5. The garden looks wonderful. You are lucky to be able to visit such a great place (with all sorts of delicious treats to feast on) since it sounds like you aren’t able to have your own plot of land to grow goodies in right now. I bought some stainless steel bins to start my veggies in… it won’t compare to the garden you just visited, but it’ll keep us going through the summer! I look forward to hearing about healthy ways to keep pests out of the garden!

    I look forward to seeing more pictures as you get settled in.🙂

  6. hey! great pics, and fun post! that place is an absolute oasis. Sometime we should go to the Herbarium in Peñalolen. Put it on your list of things to do! Claudio wants to go, too.

    And wow the bread is so good. Have you tried the eggs yet?

    The bread is good. I bought some flax seeds today because I’m going to try to bake some. I know it will pale in comparison. Haven’t tried the eggs–I was going to save them ’til E. arrives. Do they have a different taste?

  7. this looks amazing! I wish I could be there…

  8. They are different, but I don’t know how to explain it. Maybe more orangey? I know it’s a taste, not a color question, but that’s the closest I can get. Less metallic, more warm. Oy. Making it worse, right?

    flax seeds are super good for you. I used to eat them as a snack sometimes, but I think that’s pretty unorthodox. Good luck with the breadmaking!

    Warm and metallic, eh?😉

    I bet they have an all-veggie diet.

Leave a Reply

