Parque Nacional El Morado

mountain-and-trail

I had a low week last week. I’m not normally a superstitious person, and I don’t think horoscopes are credible, but I felt like my cosmic mojo was all off. Perhaps the moon was in the second sun and Jupiter wasn’t aligned with Mars. All I wanted to do was surf the net with a hot cup of instant coffee in my hand. (Alas, we have no coffee machine in our apartment.)

Last Thursday night I decided to watch the movie Yes Man despite my usual reluctance about Jim Carrey.

The only movies I’ve enjoyed were his serious roles–Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind and The Truman Show. Because he’s shown that he has acting muscle, I decided to give it a shot. I wasn’t disappointed, believe it or not. It was decent and not over-the-top. Also, I’m enchanted by Zooey Deschanel after her performance in Elf. She’s the cutest, and she can sing!

The concept of Yes Man is that Jim Carrey has chosen to follow an infomercial-type scheme to say yes to everything because it puts positive energy in the world and makes him feel better. The only complication is that saying yes doesn’t always mean doing good things. Also, saying yes can leave a person exhausted and sick. However, the feeling I got after the movie told me that perhaps I should say yes to more opportunities in Santiago. Also, perhaps I should make some things happen to get me out of my slump. I’ve been falling into the trap of “Nothing’s going on!”

I mentioned that Friday night my language school had a happy hour. My initial instinct was to say no because it places me outside my comfort zone. After using up my “no” limit with my Spanish teacher (whom I adore), I had to say yes to Friday. And I had a fantastic time. I even brought the karaoke house down with “Killing me Softly. ”

Last week another friend had told me about her hiking group, and I knew that they had a hike planned on Sunday. I had run out of excuses–I actually did not have any grading or instructional work to do on Sunday–so I made another leap out of my comfort zone. Guess what–even more fantastic time! We went about two hours from Santiago to Parque Nacional El Morado. The park contained a glaciar and gorgeous mountainscapes.

I’m not going to turn into a yes woman, but I am going to try to push myself out of my comfort zone. The hike completely lifted my spirits. I turned off the computer for a few hours today and left the apartment. I talked to strangers again. I asked my vegetable man how his weekend was and he looked at me like I was crazy, as usual. 

Have the stars aligned and brought back my mojo?

8 Comments

Filed under Chile, Santiago

8 responses to “Parque Nacional El Morado

  1. You always leave the nicest comments on my blog – thank you very much! I thought I’d pop over and see what’s going on with you. You are funny – and you can sing! I don’t think you ever lost your mojo.

    xo
    Diann

    Hi Diann. I wish I had your food mojo.😉

  2. what great pictures!!!!!!!

    i LOVE them.

    Thank you very much!

  3. Tee

    Love it! I enjoyed the movie, too, and love Zooey Deschanel.

    By the way, how cool would it be to have South American updates on Twitter from you AND Eileen? Just sayin’🙂

  4. jill

    i think your mojo is back! and, i think mine is down…need to take rowan out for a walk today. wish it were sunny!

    Sorry to hear that, Jill. Hope you feel it soon.🙂

  5. moving is so hard–take care of you! these really are beautiful photos, hope you re-mojo soon, love!

    Thanks Rebecca. Hope you are settled in.🙂

  6. oh great! I’m so glad you got up to this area, it’s so lovely, isn’t it? Also, good time of year to go now, before the rains come. It can get tricky up there with bad weather. I’m sure you had a great time! And great pics, of course!

    Thanks!

  7. I think that you aligned your own stars!! Good for you. Sometimes we need that lying low period and then have to push ourselves out of the comfort zone. That’s how it is for me too. Because of my prosthetic leg not fitting well, therefore I’m not wearing it, I can use it as an excuse (I’m feeling self-concious, too she, yada, yada, the mind rattles on …). I really have to push myself, but then find life is much more exciting as you expressed so well in the sentence, “I talked to strangers again. ” Keep living life to the fullest and “talking to strangers!” XO

    Thanks for your note, Meg. Hope you are doing well.

  8. I’m finally getting caught up on my blog reading. I hope you got your mojo back – and good luck working out of your comfort zone…it’s not easy, but setting small goals does help!

    Thanks Shelly.🙂 Did you feel the same way in France when you arrived?

Leave a Reply

