Cerro El Roble | The Oak Hill

Top View

It’s becoming Fall here! So strange to be writing about Fall foods like casseroles and chilly weather when so many of you are breaking out your skirts and t-shirts.

I went on another hike last weekend–this one on Cerro El Roble–The Oak Hill–and located in La Campana National Park about an hour and a half outside of Santiago on route five near Til Til. The forest was full of bright orange and deep red leaves.

This is the view from the top.

Starting View

The first half of the hike was below the forest. The views became more lovely as we walked higher and through the trees.

Through the Woods

The forest floor smelled like strong honey.

Hiking up

Red Trees and Andes

Here you can see the snow covered Andes on the horizon. A few hikers brought their golden retrievers to share the walk with us. They were fun companions–they would zip past us and then patiently wait for their owners. I should have taken a photo.

Yellow Plant

I love this plant’s golden color. Anyone know the name?

Aconcagua

This is Aconcagua, the tallest mountain in South America. It is located on the Chilean-Argentine border. The hike provided several amazing views of Aconcagua.

Sorry for the grainy quality. Our camera doesn’t have very good resolution.

Landscape

Top View 2

I leave you with a section of a poem of thanks from one of my favorite poets, Marvin Bell:

Around Us

We need some pines to assuage the darkness
when it blankets the mind,
we need a silvery stream that banks as smoothly
as a plane’s wing, and a worn bed of
needles to pad the rumble that fills the mind,
and a blur or two of a wild thing
that sees and is not seen. We need these things

From the poem Around Us on Poets.org.

7 Comments

Filed under Chile

7 responses to “Cerro El Roble | The Oak Hill

  1. yay! what a great hike! I have to admit I had no idea that that was part of La Campana. I have to learn my Chilean geography.

    That looks to be some kind of thistle? if it is, it might be penca, which is eaten sort of like a salad and tastes like artichoke stems to me. The flower itself might be called a cardo, but that might just mean thistle. Some help I am.

  2. Thanks for sharing the pictures… I have to start exploring the mountains. Funny they call this one a hill even though it is on 2.222 meters above sea.

    André–I didn’t know what to call it really–it’s not a hill but not really a mountain.🙂

  3. Just wonderful – the combination of words and images is lovely. I’m not familiar with the work of Marvin Bell, but I will take a look at more of his poems.

  4. What was the hike itself like in terms of difficulty and time? We’re trying to pick a day trip for Saturday, somewhere we can go for a relatively easy and enjoyable hike with the dog, and La Campana is in the running, so I’d really appreciate hearing more about it!

    I would say the difficulty is medium. It wasn’t strenous for me, even though it is a lot of uphill. And the dogs didn’t have a problem with it.

    It does take a while–about four hours up and three down.

  5. I think these photos are amazing – such a beautiful place to visit.

  6. Melissa

    As usual, your adventures and dreamy photos have brightened my day…. Wish I were in the mountains right now.

  7. A very fitting poem for such a hike. I think hiking is good for your heart & soul.

    I agree. Thanks Meg.

Leave a Reply

