Machu Picchu

Llama and Huayna Picchu

The trip to Machu Picchu was the focal point of our trip to Peru. It’s a difficult place to visit, as it requires traveling from Cusco to the Sacred Valley, taking a train from the Sacred Valley to the town of Aguas Calientes, and then a bus bright and early in the morning to the UNESCO World Heritage site. Pictures follow the jump.

Huayna Picchu Before Dawn

This is a picture of me looking at the ruins and Huayna Picchu before sunrise. The mountain most prominently featured in photos is Huayna Picchu, not Machu Picchu.

We brought chocolate covered coffee beans to wake us up. We sat for about an hour just taking it all in.

Huayna Picchu Sunrise

Here are the first sun beams shining over the surrounding mountains. The warmth of the rays was invigorating. An indigenous South American stood behind me in a sun salutation as the sun poured onto the mountain.

Huayna Picchu Sunrise 2

A moment which I will never forget.

Surrounding Mountains

We took a walk up the mountain of Machu Picchu. These are the surrounding mountains. I recommend this hike because it’s not too strenuous and not overpopulated with tourists.

Orchid

E. took this photo of orchids and Huayna Picchu.

Mountains

More snow covered mountains.

Baby Llama

About eight to ten llamas wandered around the ruins. They appeared to be the lawn mowers. I fell in love with this long lashed baby.

Creature

This rabbit-like creature was sleeping standing up. Other tourists were not quite as excited about his appearance as I was.

Machu Picchu

Machu Picchu mountain and surrounding ruins. The site is amazingly well kept.

For tourists visiting Machu Picchu, at the time of this post, the tourist buses start transporting tourists from Aguas Calientes around 6:00 a.m. A lot of tourists get in line very early in order to arrive and walk up Huayna Picchu. The site operators only allow a certain number of hikers on Huayna Picchu. They accept 200 people at 7:00 a.m. and 200 at 10:00 a.m., so people line up early. Rather than getting in another line upon entrance, I suggest watching the sunrise opposite from Huayna Picchu (where you first enter the area). We found the sunrise to be one of the best experiences there.

I heartily recommend visiting Machu Picchu and the Sacred Valley for those considering a trip to Peru.

12 Comments

Filed under Peru

12 responses to “Machu Picchu

  1. I want to go soooooooooooo bad!!!!!!!!!!Hopefully we’ll be there next month…hopefully I’ll be better enough that I’ll be able to hike and walk around and be active. That’s a lot of hopefullys.🙂

    The good news is that you don’t have to hike if you don’t want to. There are some moderately difficult steps when you enter, but after that you should be fine. Can’t wait to hear your stories.

  2. I think it might be a vizcacha!

    I might need to go again. Would that be wrong? I’d like to see it, not rush through it this time! Thanks for posting pictures, as always!

    It was a vizcacha! I grabbed a tour guide walking around and that is what she called it. I knew it was a “v” word.

  3. oo ahh is about all I can say looking at the pictures & that is one sweet looking baby.

  4. LLAMAS!!!!!!! Ever since The Emperor’s New Groove I’m been a little obsessed!

  5. Oh, absolutely breath-taking…! I don’t even know what to say other than I’m awed and amazed by the beauty of this place, and how talented you are to capture it so well.

    Thanks, Hannah. It is sad knowing that we might never be back.

    I can’t take all of the credit–E. took most of these photos.🙂

  6. jill

    wow, these photos are incredibly beautiful. they took my breath away and brought a tear to my eye. that sunrise was unreal. thank you for sharing!

  7. Your photos are breathtaking! Seeing that sunrise must have been an unforgettable moment. Ugh, travel envy! lol

    P.S. Love the furry critters.🙂

  8. Sherry

    Beautiful! What an amazing opportunity- thanks for sharing (as usual).

  9. I am speechless – it’s all so beautiful, and so beautifully photographed. There is so much beauty in this crazy world, really.
    And I just love that little squirrel/rabbit animal – so cute.

  10. What amazing pictures. It looks like such an incredible place to be and just absorb its beauty. Thanks for sharing.

  11. Mom

    Glad you got to visit, and can’t wait to see the remaining photos. I, too, would like the critters along with the spectacular scenery!

  12. Pingback: Cusco, Peru « Still Life in South America

Leave a Reply

