Return to Buenos Aires | Post 100

Buenos Aires
Photo Credit: Celeste

This is post 100 on Still Life in South America. I started the blog initially as Still Life in Buenos Aires, moved to Chile and changed the name, and now I’m back in Buenos Aires again. I think I’ll keep the “South America,” but it does pose some problems when we move outside of South America.

Being back in Buenos Aires has been enjoyable. I forgot how much I love this city and its energy. Thursday, the day after arriving, I walked around my old barrio of Palermo with smile on my face, remembering all of its characteristics–vendors selling hot candied peanuts on the street, broken sidewalks and wobbly tiles, the myriad of balconies in every direction, the barreling sound of collectivos (buses) streaming down the street, heavily made-up old women draped with furs, humble vendors selling socks on the street with babies in arms, verdularia vendors with precise pyramids of fruits and vegetables, bread and dessert shops on every corner that would make Willy Wonka envious, and dogwalkers wrangling their dog herds past pedestrians, taxis, and buses.

Buenos Aires is a poem just waiting to be realized. It is a city ripe for myth making.

10 Comments

Filed under Argentina

10 responses to “Return to Buenos Aires | Post 100

  1. Congratulations on post 100 – I’m just about there myself. Glad to have you back in Argentina!🙂

    Thanks! I look forward to finally meeting you.🙂

  2. That photo is amazing. Did you take that? Keep it up w/the photos. They’re so beautiful!🙂

    I like this photo too. It is taken by a Flickr photographer named Celeste. She has some beautiful photos of Buenos Aires.

  3. Congrats on your 100th post! (And “home”coming).🙂

    Thank you, Ricki.

  4. The 100th post is always exciting. Congrats on that and good luck back in Bs As. Your photos are gorgeous and I look forward to seeing more. I, now, take atrocious photos, but I still hope to put some on the blog one of these days.

    Thank you Sara! I would like to see more of your pictures.

  5. Marce

    Congrats on the 100th post and welcome back to Buenos Aires!

    Thanks you! It’s great to be back.

  6. Tamsin

    Beautifully written, I love your way with words. Shame we didn’t get to meet up again but things got a bit too hectic in the last few weeks and then we were in Europe for 3 weeks. Enjoy Buenos Aires, we’ll be there for a weekend in October. Take care, Tamsin

    Thanks, Tamsin. I know you had a lot going on. Hope you enjoyed Europe and some time with family!

  7. Hello–I recently got back from 10 wks in BsAs and just found your blog today. I blogged too while there (I guess who doesn’t…) and it’s fun to read your comments and observations and compare to mine. Congratulations on your 100th post, and this also gives me inspiration to continue with mine (75 more to go….). Best, Lauren

    Thanks Lauren. I’m glad you got the opportunity to visit. I will check out your site.

  8. Hello again–I just noticed that you respond to everyone who writes. That’s so nice of you; and, thank you for stopping by my blog (I initially thought, wow, how did she find it since I didn’t leave an address? Then realized–of course, Google…I’m never ceased to be amazed by it, and no, I don’t work for Google). Your Machu Picchu & Cusco photos also bring back fond memories of my very first trip–and only other trip, to S. America in Dec 03. It’s nice to read and view a well written blog such as yours. Have fun and best of luck with your journey and stay in BsAs.

    Thanks for the kind words. I tried to comment on your blog but it looks like the comments are disabled. You’re an excellent photographer.

  9. Chelsea

    Great post – you’re making me so excited to come back!

    Thank you!

  10. With such an extensive knowledge of – and passion for – the nation of Argentina, it is not often that we read a perfect post that captures the mystique and reality of its cities. You just put Buenos Aires into words. In fact, 95% of those words could describe most cities del interior, as well.

    Long live praline (candied peanuts)!

Leave a Reply

