Still Life Year in Review – 2009

I started this blog in February 2008 in order to journal our travels to South America and keep in touch with family. I had never considered blogging before, but it seemed like the right circumstance to start. In December 2008, we left Buenos Aires for a new excursion, one that kaleidoscoped into other side trips. To start the new year, I thought I would catalogue our 2009 locations.

When I was in sixth grade, our art teacher required us to choose a country’s flag and draw it. I spent nearly the entire class time trying to pick out the most attractive flag that would serve as a reflection of me. I finally settled upon Argentina’s flag because of the distinctive sun in the middle. And I thought, “Wow, it’s too bad I will never be able to go to Argentina.”


Photo Credit: Wikipedia Commons

Little did I know that I would live in Argentina for a year and fall in love with life there.


Photo Credit: Wikipedia Commons

That is not to say that life is perfect in Argentina, but there are so many enchanting facets there that visitors are willing to overlook the negatives. I miss the cherished friends, the wine, fresh pasta and empanadas, the buses, beautiful parks, the dog walkers, and porteño Spanish. Who knows, maybe we will return in the next year or two? For now, there are more places to see.

Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover. – Mark Twain

5 Comments

Filed under Habitation

5 responses to “Still Life Year in Review – 2009

  1. I miss it too! I’m glad we got to connect there.

    Hopefully we’ll connect here in Italy too.😀

    That would be amazing. I’m so happy that you’re enjoying your return to Italy.🙂

  2. What a beautiful post–it made me a little weepy! I’m so glad you are embracing new adventures wherever they take you!! Peace and a Happy New Year to you!

    Thanks Rebecca. I hope all is well with your family in this new year.

  3. Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover. – Mark Twain

    I love that. Thanks for reminding me. SC

  4. When I was studying Spanish back in high school, we devoted a couple of weeks to South American geography. I had a similar moment to your flag story as I traced my finger over Uruguay and Argentina on the map, thinking about how distant and exotic those places seemed. I never imagined that I would one day live in Argentina.

    The Mark Twain quote speaks volumes. Here’s to new adventures in 2010! And if you make it back to Argentina, we’ll have to get together again.🙂

    Definitely! It’s a deal. I’d love to see Nechochea.

  5. I love the Twain quote, and I look forward to reading your blog this year. I wish you safe and happy trails.

    Thanks Denise!

Leave a Reply

