Little Love Affairs*

Reading Leslie’s writing at the whole plate and seeing Luke’s and Natalie’s photos at him + her inspired me to write about the small things that bring me joy in Bangkok. I’ve been working a lot and feeling dull. It has been too long since I’ve posted.

I’ve fallen in love with mini Asian eggplants. They are full of tiny seeds. Once fried, they burst with flavor. We live a couple of blocks from a beautiful fresh market with so many vegetable choices. Each day I have to resist coming back to the apartment with arms full of cabbage, cilantro, okra, basil, and green, yellow, and red chilis.

I found some vegetarian chili paste with tamarind, and I’m slowly learning variations on stir fries with vinegar, ginger, and soy sauce.

These mini bananas are so cute and extra sweet. I’ve been chopping them up for muesli or unsweetened yogurt.

Best of all–I love these Asian-style knives we got at the supermarket. Our apartment was only equipped with a small steak knife for cooking–it wouldn’t do. These beautiful knives have made cooking so much easier and a joy.

*Thanks to Nanci Griffith for the title.

4 Comments

Filed under Food, Thailand

4 responses to “Little Love Affairs*

  1. Those mini eggplants have shown up here in the San Telmo market. I was wondering what to do with them. How’s the tamarind? They make a juice with it in Panama. I loved it, but it is sort of bitter. Ooo…. those little chili peppers. I am jealous and hungry now, too. Miss you!!!!

    Yes–you will love the eggplant! I have been building up the nerve to buy some tamarind seeds and break them open. I’ll let you know what fresh tamarind is like.

    It’s nice to live in a country that loves its chilis!😉 Miss you too. Tell J. and Naty hello.

  2. Me encantan estos pequenos platanos y eggplants. Ah tambien el cilantro es comun ayi? Aqui solo el perejil. Y esos cuchillos se ven poderosos. ja.ja

    Solamente perejil?! Que triste. Pero se sabe como usar el picante, sí?😀

  3. I’m so jealous of your exotic produce! The same old winter roots are getting seriously boring around here…

  4. I would love to hear more about your stir fry variations. But only if you post recipes that have ingredients that exist in Chile😛

    I know you have some yellow chilis. But the question is–will S. eat them?😀

Leave a Reply

